Wirral Bird Club


On this page:





Indoor Meetings 2019/20


All our Indoor meetings are held at

Kingsmead School Hall
Bertram Drive
Hoylake, CH47 0LL
7.30pm to 9.30pm
Visitors are very welcome, and the charge is 4.00, which includes tea/coffee and biscuits. These are not ticket events - please just come along.

2019

Thursday 26 September 2019 - The HILDA TRUESDALE Memorial Talk
"Serious Jockin"
Birding in the Scottish Highlands.
Jeremy Bradshaw

Thursday 24 October 2019
"Wild Norfolk - Spring & Summer"
A tour of wildlife hotspots.
David Hollis

Thursday 28 November 2019
"A shot at Wildlife 2015"
Favourite wildlife images from that year.
Pauline and Ian Greenhalgh

2020

Thursday 23 January 2020
"From Kruger to the Highveld"
We explore two very different habitats.
Keith Offord

Thursday 27 February 2020
"Birding in the Isle of Avalon"
Visits to the Somerset Levels.
Mike Roberts

Thursday 26 March 2020
"Jewel in the Crown"
The birds and animals of Northern India.
Mike McKavett

Thursday 23 April 2020
"It's a funny way to make a living - part 2"
More on Mike's amusing career.
Mike Leach

Thursday 28 May 2020
"AGM & Wirral Bird Club Members - A Bird's Eye View"
Club members share their birding experiences through their own photographs.
Wirral Bird Club Members

Thursday 25 June 2020
"Hilbre Bird Observatory"
An insight into the workings of our local Bird Observatory.
John Elliott

Thursday 23 July 2020
"Natural treasures of the Sefton Coast"
Secrets of a local shoreline.
Trevor Davenport

Field Meetings 2019/20


Non-members are very welcome to join us on field trips but, in the event that amended details may be given out at the Indoor Meeting prior to the Field Meeting, please use the contact details, shown below, to confirm.
*Coach trips have to be booked in advance*.

2019

Friday 30 August 2019
Hilbre Over High Water
Spend the day on the island looking for returning waders and late departures, and grey seals close up. High tide is at 11.28 am.

Saturday 28 September 2019
Wirral North Coast, from Dove Point
A local walk looking for birds on-shore, on the beach and at sea.

Saturday 2 November 2019
Point of Ayr
Waders and wildfowl especially.

Sunday 17 November 2019
Moore Nature Reserve
Always a popular destination, with varied habitats and birds.

Saturday 14 December 2019
Denhall Lane and Dee Marshes
A favourite over-wintering location.

2020

Saturday 25 January 2020
The Spinnies - near Bangor
Good variety of birds on the river and Menai Straits.

Sunday 1 March 2020
Lunt Meadows Nature Reserve
A great wetland site beside the River Alt.

Saturday 28 March 2020
Dee estuary at Heswall
A local hot spot for harriers, owls, egrets and waders.

Sunday 26 April 2020
Slaidburn (by coach)
Birds of Picturesque location by the River Hodder in the Forest of Bowland.
Telephone 0151 632 4451 to reserve your seat.

Wednesday 13 May 2020
Chester Greenway
Birds of woodland and fields, close to Chester.

Saturday 30 May 2020
Glyndyfrdwy
Welsh oak-wood valley, with Pied Flycatcher, Wood Warbler and Redstart.

Saturday 27 June 2020
Carsington Water (by coach)
Reservoir with woodland and meadow surrounds, and excellent facilities.
Telephone 0151 632 4451 to reserve your seat.

Wednesday 15 July 2020
Sandstone Trail
Pleasant stroll through scenic countryside.

Contact

For more information, please contact Bill on 07795 148140

www.wirralbirdclub.com